Posted by: Ibrahim | 20/06/2010

FEAR

I will be teaching in all-boys school at La Salle, Tg Aru. Instead of feeling nervous, I feel excited. Compare to co-ed and convent school, I feel a great relief to be teaching at this school. At least I don’t have to prepare much mentally and physically. I can simply be myself, because I have this preconceive idea that these boys, like any other boys, hardly judge their male peers, or teachers.

Girls don’t judge either, only that I’ll be the one who will be judging them in sense of their learning styles. I’m afraid that I might hurt any of them unconsciously because some of my girl-friends have called me harsh (when I thought I’ve been sweet enough to them!) I also have this belief that girls, although can be very smart, are shy at the same time (and I don’t know how to make them speak).

Moreover, from my teaching experiences at a tuition centre, I realized that boys had tendency to speak more if they’re sitting with themselves. If there were girls in their group, these girls would be some kind of barriers for them to speak out (Girls’ power?). Perhaps they were afraid to make mistakes as it would degrade their intelligence in front of the girls (ego matters).

I only want my students to talk (with me), no matter how wrong their pronunciations and grammars are. I want to be friend them so that it’s easier for me to understand and relate to them. I want to know whether the conventional teachings only benefit the girls, or it’s because their attitude that prevent them from succeed in studies. I hope it’s not wrong to make them my guinea pigs.

FEAR is a novel by L. Ron Hubbard

Responses

  1. “At least I don’t have to prepare much mentally and physically. I can simply be myself, because I have this preconceive idea that these boys, like any other boys, hardly judge their male peers, or teachers.”

    Believe me, you want to be prepared 🙂 its no tuition center, its school…

    • So demotivating. But an eye opener, too! Perhaps I’ve been too ambitious. I will Indah, I will get prepared with any illegal weapons I could. Thanks for the visit!

  2. All the best in the world!
    u gonna do great 🙂
    p/s: neves oh sy tingu kmu prektikum sda haha

    • Nervous? Since when? You’re just born to be a teacher. It’s just in your blood.
      Ps. jgn dpt sikul laki ah, konfem ko kna ngurat nt.

  3. i read it from Kit that males have the ability to communicate without even lifting their lips…in this case, u might be lucky because u r a male…lol
    gud luck

    • Who’s KIT? It’s what we consider as “eyes are the windows to the soul!”

  4. Lucks wif ur practicum next week..

    U gonna b a great English teacher..
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

