Posted by: Ibrahim | 25/05/2010

House Rules

The holiday routine starts with Dad wakes us up at exactly 6AM. He never misses it, and we know it very well when he knocks the door, we have approximately 15-20 minutes to prepare for the Dawn prayer. Somehow, I don’t have to set my alarm clock as I will automatically wakes up when hearing his footsteps.

I still remember a quotation that my junior placed in her blog, “A family who prays together, stays together.” It comes together with her sorrow that her family has never been praying together for a long time and she expects that’s the reason why they keep having constant familial conflict. At first I think the sole reason is because they don’t actually communicate with each other.

Somehow, I think praying together has great impact to the bond. One of the thing that I’m proud about my family is that we have been praying together since I was young. And thank God, we never have to face great conflicts among each other. The worse incident that we ever had to face is the departure of our 5th sibling – yet, it’s a bless in disguise as we’re getting even closer to each other.

Dad although suffers of gout still eagers to lead the prayer.  He’s been showing a good example to us, and I’m really proud of him. Sometimes we don’t have time to lunch together, yet there is always time for us to pray. And while waiting for the other members to get prepared, we’ll have small talks among us. We listen to each other. And I think that’s the reason that keeps us together.

The title is inspired by Jodi Picoult’s novel (2010).

Responses

  1. God.. it touched me deep..

    • Thanks for the visit. I noticed the capital letter in every ‘H’ of your nickname. Want to share what’s behind it? Or merely trademark? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

